Faculty Travel and Honorarium Policy

All payment of honoraria and support for travel and accommodations for AES Annual Meeting faculty will be in compliance with the ACCME Standards for Commercial Support and AES policies.

The honorarium amount and support for travel are determined by the AES Annual Meeting Committee with input from the AES Council on Education chair.

Questions? Email education@aesnet.org


AES Annual Meeting Faculty Package Information

Faculty support is broken down by level and session below.

  • Honorarium: $500 per invited speaker (speakers may only receive one honorarium per Annual Meeting and must meet all deadlines to qualify)
  • Travel Package: Round trip coach airfare from home city and up to two nights hotel at the AES-approved standard room rate (room and tax only). All travel and housing reservations must be made through the AES travel agency by Thursday, September 15, 2022. 
  • Mileage: If close enough to drive, AES will reimburse for roundtrip mileage (at the standard rates determined by the IRS), tolls, and parking for up to three days. AES will reimburse up to the amount of coach air travel, as quoted by Frosch (AES travel agent). If traveling by train, AES will cover roundtrip fare.


Faculty Limitations

  • Faculty may only present in either one symposia or investigators workshop (if invited, faculty may also present in one special interest group)
  • Faculty may only present in one special interest group


    Support Levels

    Level 1 SupportLevel 2 SupportLevel 3 Support
    Faculty Honorarium
    Travel PackageUp to 1 non-memberNONO


    Level 1 Sessions

    The following sessions qualify for Level 1 Support:

    • Symposia: up to eight speakers
    • Dialogues to Transform Epilepsy: up to six speakers (exception: up to two non-member travel packages)
    • Annual Course: up to 25 speakers
    • Investigator Workshops (CME/Non-CME): up to five speakers
    • Resident EEG Training Course: up to 15 speakers
    • Surgical Course: up to 15 speakers

    Level 2 Support

    The following sessions qualify for Level 2 Support:

    • CME Professional Development Sessions (CME Only): up to six speakers
    • Special Interest Groups (CME Only): up to five speakers
    • Special Lectures: no more than eight speakers (exception: Epilepsy Fellowship Program Directors Meeting, up to five speakers)
    • Basic Science and Clinical Skills Workshops: up to three speakers


    Level 3 Support

    The following sessions qualify for Level 3 Support:

    • Special Interest Groups (Non-CME): one non-member per SIG



    Requests for Additional Travel Packages

    Travel support may be requested for any Annual Meeting sessions that do not currently include travel support. You may also propose an additional non-member speaker to receive travel support.

    Requests must be made by completing the online AES Travel Package Request Form no later than Friday, April 29, 2022. Final decisions on travel package requests will be made by the appropriate committee chair(s) based on rationale and budget later than Sunday, May 15, 2022, and communicated by Wednesday, May 18, 2022. No speakers beyond those covered by the policy limits stated above should be offered travel support until receiving written approval.

    Note: Annual Meeting Chair(s) will approve all travel package requests with the exception of Investigator Workshops. The Investigator Workshop Committee Chair(s) will approve such requests.

    A travel package will be extended to a non-member as a one-time-only offer. AES maintains a list of faculty who have received a travel package historically. If you are unsure if the speaker is a member or non-member, please contact the AES staff liaison to your committee or the AES education team at education@aesnet.org.


    Registration Coverage Requests

    Complimentary one-day registration may be requested for speakers outside of the epilepsy community that would not otherwise attend the meeting (i.e. dietician, attorney, sleep expert, etc). The AES Complimentary Registration Request Form must be completed no later than Friday, April 29, 2022.

    Final decisions will be made by the Annual Meeting Committee chair no later than Friday, May 13, 2022, and communicated by Tuesday, May 17, 2022.

    The following procedures must be followed to receive transportation and housing support:

    (Deadline: Thursday, September 15)

    • All transportation supported by AES must be booked through the AES-approved travel agent, Frosch by Thursday, September 15, 2022. AES will contact all faculty approved for travel with details to make reservations. Faculty should not book transportation until they have heard from AES.
    • If faculty are not permitted by their employer to book with Frosch (i.e., they work for a government agency, etc.) and AES support for their travel is anticipated, they must get written approval (email will suffice) from AES to book with another agency. All tickets must be approved by AES before reservations are booked and ticketed.
    • AES will not reimburse for transportation if travel is booked without AES approval.
    • If faculty choose to upgrade or change their flight once it is booked, all upgrade and/or change fees associated will be paid by the faculty. AES does not reimburse for elective flight changes. AES will cover change fees due to acts of nature.


    (Deadline: Thursday, September 15)

    • Rooms must be booked through the official AES housing bureau. Rooms booked outside the AES room block will not be reimbursed. AES will provide a list of approved hotels.
    • All rooms must be reserved by Thursday, September 15, 2022. A credit card will be required to confirm the reservation. AES will work with the housing bureau to add approved faculty to the master bill at the hotel. Once on the master bill, AES will cover up to two nights’ room and tax for the stay.
    • Faculty will be responsible for additional nights beyond the two provided by AES.
    • The Annual Meeting Committee chair reserves the right to make exceptions to the travel policy if needed. Exceptions will be considered on a case-by-case basis. All exceptions must be approved by the chair of the Council on Education.