The Society's goal in its nomination process is to identify an effective volunteer leadership team.  AES uses an open, transparent nomination process to facilitate the representation of fresh ideas within the leadership while maintaining optimal continuity and insight into the Society's needs and functions.

The Nominating Committee recognizes that diversity of experience and background enriches the Board of Directors and Society leadership and aims for balance and diversity in all its aspects in considering nominees. 

In addition, the Nominating Committee annually considers a list of desired key competencies and characteristics for Board officers and directors.  These are outlined in the nomination form and include exemplifying core values of the Society, demonstrated leadership, knowledge and engagement in AES and the broader epilepsy community, achievement in the field, strategic vision, personal commitment and accountability, and a collaborative and collegial approach.

Each Spring, AES invites nominations for the AES subsequent year’s Board of Directors. Open positions include Second Vice President, two Board Members At-large, and one Nominating Committee Member At-large.  All AES Active members may nominate themselves or other engaged, qualified members for any of the open positions.

Terms of Office

Second Vice President: one-year term (succeeds to First Vice President and to President with continued service as president emeritus for a total four-year term on the Executive Committee)

Board Member-at-Large and Nominating Committee: Three-year terms, January 1– December 31.


Second Vice President - must have served on the board previously as a full voting board member. Current Board members are eligible if they will complete their current term by 12/31 of the year prior to the year serving on the Board.

Board Member-At-Large - has served as a council or a committee chair, and/or served as an active member of a committee.

Nominating Committee Member At-large - has served on the board, and/or has served as a committee chair, and/or served as an active committee member. The ideal candidate is a visionary yet practical thinker who understands the AES strategic plan and can identify people and ideas that will have a critical long-term impact on the direction of the society.

AES subscribes to the Council on Medical Subspecialties (CMSS) code of interaction with companies and requires all Officers and members of the Board of Directors to abide by these codes as incorporated in AES policy—complying fully within one year of appointment.

Time Commitment

Service on the Board of Directors requires participating and preparing for monthly Board conference calls and three in-person Board meetings annually.  The Second Vice President also participates in weekly Executive Committee calls and three chair update conference calls each year.

Nominating Committee members prepare for and participate in at least three calls, generally between May and August, with the possibility of one in-person meeting for development of the final slate.


More Information: