Scott C. Baraban, PhD, to be honored for excellence in epilepsy research at the American Epilepsy Society’s Annual Meeting

Scott C. Baraban, PhD, will receive the Research Recognition Award, Basic Science, from the American Epilepsy Society for his promising translational and basic science research. The award will be presented during the society’s annual meeting in Houston, Tex., December 2-5.

Dr. Baraban is the Professor in Residence of Neurological Surgery and the William K. Bowes Jr. Endowed Chair in Neuroscience Research at the University of California San Francisco. His research has focused on translational questions in epilepsy, and currently includes work on models of pediatric epilepsy in zebrafish, drug discovery and interneuron-based cell therapies. The first zebrafish models for epilepsy were developed in his laboratory, and his group recently published the first high-throughput drug screens using a zebrafish model for Dravet syndrome. The initial demonstration that embryonic GABA progenitor cells transplanted into postnatal brain can functionally integrate and enhance inhibition emerged from his lab, and led to the first proof-of-principle cell therapy studies in epileptic mice. His research has also contributed to our understanding of epileptic networks in a malformed brain, NPY as an endogenous anticonvulsant peptide, and the therapeutic potential of diuretics.

He has authored more than 100 publications, including papers in the Journal of Neuroscience, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA, Neuron, Nature Communications, Science and Nature Neuroscience. His research is funded by federal and private sources, and he has received several research honors, including the Basil O’ Connor Scholar Research award, a Klingenstein Foundation Fellowship in Neuroscience and an NIH EUREKA award. He was recently awarded a Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award from the NIH.

He has served on various editorial, scientific advisory and grant review boards, and co-chaired a Gordon Research Conference on epilepsy with Dr. Jack Parent. At AES, he has served as Scientific Program Chair and as a member on several committees. He is currently on the editorial board of Experimental Neurology and serves on the NIH Clinical Neuroplasticity and Neurotransmitters Study Section and the Scientific Advisory Board of the Dravet Syndrome Foundation.

Dr. Baraban received his bachelor’s degree from Johns Hopkins University and doctorate from University of Virginia. He conducted postdoctoral research with Phil Schwartzkroin at the University of Washington, and joined the faculty at UCSF in 1999.

The American Epilepsy Society presents Research Recognition Awards to recognize scientists and clinicians whose distinguished research holds promise for improving our understanding and treatment of epilepsy. The awards include a $10,000 honorarium. The award will be presented to Dr. Baraban on Saturday, December 3, at 8:30 a.m.

About the American Epilepsy Society
Founded in 1946, the American Epilepsy Society (AES) is a medical and scientific society whose members are dedicated to advancing research and education for preventing, treating and curing epilepsy. AES is an inclusive global forum where professionals from academia, private practice, not-for-profit, government and industry can learn, share and grow to eradicate epilepsy and its consequences.

For more information, visit the American Epilepsy Society online at Join the AES Annual Meeting social conversation today by following @AmEpilepsySoc on Twitter and using the hashtag #AES2016.