Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at AES

President William D. Gaillard appointed the AES Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Taskforce during the spring of 2020. After several months of thoughtful deliberation, its recommendations were presented to and adopted by the AES Board of Directors in December. This puts into action the reaffirmation of our Society's commitment to these values.

The Board adopted the Statement of Strategic Issues prepared by the taskforce (below) and created a permanent committee dedicated to fostering and accelerating diversity, equity, and inclusion in our Society's work. This committee will report directly to the Board of Directors and its chair will serve as an ex officio member of the Board.

You will hear more about the taskforce and committee's work in the coming months, along with updates on how these core values are being woven into AES priorities at all levels, from our new strategic plan to the day-to-day activities of the Society.

In the meantime, we encourage you to take time to explore two videos that were recorded during AES2020. Both feature DEI Taskforce leaders discussing these important issues.

Statement of Strategic Issues

  • We work for meaningful advances in prevention, treatment, and cure for every person with or at risk of epilepsy
  • We recognize that including members with a diversity of backgrounds and experience enriches our work as a Society and directly improves treatment of and outcomes for the diverse patient population our members serve
  • Our work is conducted with integrity and respect for the backgrounds and experiences of all stakeholders
  • We believe that equitable access to epilepsy care and broader health care is a fundamental right of all members of society
  • We acknowledge the systemic oppression of Black, Indigenous, and other people of color as a means to advance the social, economic, and political advantage of others
  • Addressing these issues will require a long-term Society-wide commitment to learning, reflection, collaboration, and creativity

Meet the DEI Taskforce

Manisha N. Patel, PhD
Howard P. Goodkin, MD, PhD
Daniel H. Lowenstein, MD
Elizabeth Felton, MD, PhD
Rana R. Said, MD
Matthew McCaskill, DO
Farah D. Lubin, PhD
DEI Committee
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL
Joaquin N. Lugo, PhD
Maria Raquel Lopez, MD
Lori L. Isom, PhD
Carol Ulloa, MD
Ukpong B. Eyo, PhD
Nina Garga, MD
Omar J. Ahmed, PhD
Carl Bazil, MD, PhD