Board of Directors

Looking Ahead to 2022: Ratification of Officers and Board Members

The AES Nominating Committee is pleased to announce an outstanding group of candidates for the 2022 year.

  • Second Vice President: William H. Theodore, MD, FAES
    One-year term, succeeds to the presidency in two years
  • Board of Directors Members: Jorge A. Gonzalez-Martinez, MD, PhD and Annapurna Poduri, MD, MPH, FAES
  • Two open positions, three-year terms
  • Nominating Committee, At-large Member: Amy L. Brewster, PhD
    Three-year term


This slate of candidates will be sent to members in the active and professional categories to vote upon. The Nominating Committee strongly recommends the ratification of this slate.

2021 Board Executive Committee

Douglas A. Coulter, PhD
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia PA
R. Edward Hogan, MD, FAES
First Vice President
Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis MO
Manisha N. Patel, PhD
Second Vice President
University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus
Aurora CO
William D. Gaillard, MD, FAES
Immediate Past President
Children's National Medical Center Department of Neurology
Washington DC
Howard P. Goodkin, MD, PhD, FAES
University of Virginia
Charlottesville VA
Eileen Murray, MM, CAE
Executive Director, Ex Officio
American Epilepsy Society
Chicago IL

Board Members

Elinor Ben-Menachem, MD, PhD, FAES
Sahlgrenska University Hospital
Gotenborg Sweden
Lori L. Isom, PhD, FAES
University of Michigan Medical School Department of Pharmacology
Ann Arbor MI
Kevin E. Chapman, MD, FAES
Phoenix Children's Hospital
Phoenix AZ
Barbara A. Dworetzky, MD, FAES
Brigham and Women's Hospital, Department of Neurology
Boston MA
Nathalie Jetté, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York NY
Fred A. Lado, MD, PhD
North Shore University Hospital
Great Neck NY

Council Chairs | Ex Officio

David G. Vossler, MD, FAES
Council on Clinical Activities
University of Washington, Valley Medical Center
Renton WA
Angel W. Hernandez, MD, FAES
Membership Council
Helen DeVos Children's Hospital
Grand Rapids MI
Barbara C. Jobst, MD, PhD, FAES
Council on Education
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Lebanon NH
Michael D. Privitera, MD, FAES
Development Council
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Cincinatti OH
David C. Spencer, MD, FAES
Editor, Epilepsy Currents
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland OR
Peter B. Crino, MD, PhD
Research and Training Council Co-chair
University of Maryland
Baltimore MD
Renee A. Shellhaas, MD, MS, FAES
Research and Training Council Co-chair
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor MI
Nathalie Jetté, MD, MSc, FRCPC
ILAE North America Chair
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York NY
Lyn Wolfson
Staff Liaison
American Epilepsy Society
Chicago IL