Susan Spencer Clinical Research Training Fellowship

The Clinical Research and Training Fellowship in Epilepsy was established in honor of Susan S. Spencer, MD, a past president of the American Epilepsy Society who was professor of neurology and medical director of the epilepsy program at the Yale University School of Medicine and Yale New Haven Hospital.

Following her untimely death in the Spring of 2009, this fellowship was created to foster the development of investigators interested in pursuing careers in patient-oriented research.

The award is made possible by the American Academy of Neurology with funding from the American Epilepsy Society, the American Brain Foundation, and the Epilepsy Foundation.

The award totals $150,000 and is distributed over two years. Applicants must submit their research plan and biosketch in advance with sufficient time allotted for additional materials to be submitted by their chair, mentor, and references. 

This program is run by AAN. Details on the upcoming cycle will be posted here Summer 2021.

Past Recipients arrow_drop_down
  • Colin Ellis, MD, University of Pennsylvania (2020)
  • Lisseth Burbano, MD, The Florey Institute of Neuroscience (2019)
  • Hiroki Nariai, MD, UCLA Medical Center (2018)
  • Alice Lam, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital (2017)
  • Paula Voinescu, MD, PhD, Brigham and Women Hospital (2016)
  • Leigh N. Sepeta, PhD, Children’s National Health System (2015)
  • Colin Josephson, MD, MSc, University of Calgary (2014)
  • Robert J. Kotloski, MD, PhD University of Wisconson (2013)
  • Anli Liu MD, MA Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School (2012)
  • Piero Perucca, MD Montreal Neurological Institute at McGill University (2011)